Leaving Florida Behind

We are now two months into our new life here in Greenville, North Carolina.

So much has happened in these past few months to lead us where we are today and I am disappointed that I haven’t documented it well at all.

Since I last blogged about our life we were excited, nervous, and every other emotion under the sun that our lives were taking on a new adventure with Rob matching to the general surgery program in Greenville. Now that is Greenville, NORTH CAROLINA. Not South Carolina. You wouldn’t believe how many people have tried to “correct me” since we found out we were headed here.

Before we made the leap and moved ourselves out of Florida there was much to be done to get ready for our new life.

After Match Day we took a week long vacation to visit all of our favorite spots and places we hadn’t ever been before in Florida before we said our goodbye’s.

 

Once back in South Florida we soaked in our time with family, friends, and each other in the couple of months we had left. Going to new places we hadn’t been before and visiting our old favorites one last time.

 

 In May, the best event of all occurred. . . Rob GRADUATED from medical school!!!

IMG_2828IMG_2836IMG_2843IMG_2845IMG_2850IMG_2922IMG_2882

046071076

He is now officially Dr. Robert Allman, MD. I couldn’t wait to get new address labels with his new title (just kidding). Oh how proud of him I am. What an accomplishment. It has been so fun walking along side of him throughout his journey and watching him grow. Look out North Carolina, the best doctor is coming to town!

The last month after graduation flew like the wind.

We updated our house, put it on the market, and sold our house in matter of a couple of weeks.  We packed up our stuff, as well as my classroom, and loaded a trailer. `Let’s not talk about how much stuff we (me) had.

IMG_3154

But we did it. We managed to pack it all in and ship it north a week or so before we left. Which meant we had no furniture or anything for a week so we had many dinner dates just like this one

IMG_3197

In the last week of being Floridians, we soaked in as much time with everyone as possible. A week before we moved we had to say goodbye to our best friends and I lost it. I walked away a-hot-mess of tears as this whole “moving thing” became a reality.

IMG_3211IMG_3230

The morning of June 12th, we woke up early, packed the cars with mom and dad in tow and headed North. What a mixture of feelings I had driving away from our house, our city, our friends and family. We made so many memories in South Florida dating, being engaged, and living as newlyweds.

And now, I am no longer a Floridian.

Weird to think about, and weird to say. I am slowly getting used to it. I can’t count the times I that I have told people where I moved from and they say “Did you get lost?” “How in the world did you end up here?” “Good luck finding things to do!”

It has been a double edged sword having the summer to adjust to my new surroundings. I had time to find a job, check out our ‘go-to’ spots, find my way around the city, as well as travel. But it also left way too much time for boredom. Having Rob around for the first couple of weeks helped being able to travel the state, visit family thats close, and explore.

But I am adjusting. . we are adjusting.

I am a North Carolinian! (Hopefully I WILL get used to that)

Julia

Leave me some love!