Life As I Know It

Wow. . . It’s been a long while since I have been on here.

Life has gotten away from me. Well, the last of my summer sure did. I have been so busy I haven’t had time to reminisce on  here of all the fun times we have had since we returned from Costa Rica.

Here is just a few of my Instagram pictures I have taken over the past couple of months.

We traveled to the NC mountains to visit some family and friends.

 

Grove Park Inn, Antique car museum

The Grove Park Inn

Raleigh Times with Rob’s sister and brother-in-law

 

Their gigantic dog, Fritz

 

North Carolina Museum of Science

 

It is now August once again. School has started up. Life is back to the same routine of work everyday. . .

But this year it’s a bit different.

You see, God has been blessing us, Rob and I, tremendously over the past few months.

Starting with Rob getting into medical school.

Then we were able to go on our AMAZING Costa Rican adventure this summer.

Once we returned home, I started looking for a job like a crazy person. Since Rob was moving down to Miami to start medical school, I figured it was about high time to be close to him. Out of our six years together we have lived near each other for a total of one. So I kicked my butt in gear and applied EVERYWHERE on the east coast of Florida. I handed in my applications to every school that had a position available for me and God intervened in his amazing way that he does and landed me a position.

It is for a school that I didn’t know existed. It was on my list to go to one day but as I sat in traffic wasting my gas thinking I was wasting my time I was planning on skipping it and going to other schools instead. But as it came down to be next on my list I had a strange feeling that I needed to go to it. Something inside me said not to bypass it but go and hand in my resume. When I walked in the front office, there stood the principle manning the front desk. I handed my resume straight to him and chatted with him about my resume and where I was coming from. It just so happened he used to be a principle in that same county and knew exactly where I had been teaching. We chatted for a few minutes and he told me that they would be in touch. I received a phone call that day to schedule an interview. When I walked into the interview a few days later I wasn’t nervous. It was for a third grade position, a grade that I really didn’t want to teach so I didn’t mind if I received the position or not. But as I was on the interview with the asst. principle she told me that the principle loved me and the position was mine as long as I wanted it. I walked out of that interview in awe of God. It was mine? But, I had never taught 3rd grade. I was the only person they interviewed for the job? Why would they want me? If I hadn’t walked into that office  a few days earlier when handing out my resumes I wouldn’t have had this position. I would have been another resume on the stack of 1,000 that she had on her desk in front of me. I received a phone call later that day officially offering me the position. I screamed and shouted, cried and hugged all of Rob’s family around me. I couldn’t believe it and knew that this was exactly where I was supposed to be and the move back home to my family was supposed to happen. I was amazed. In awe. And so very thankful for all of the blessings that were coming my way.

It’s been a rollercoaster ride ever since my hire. I went back to my old school, resigned, and gathered up all of my classroom belongings. I even got switched to first grade, my favorite grade, at my new school while I was deciding what to take with me and what to leave behind. Needless to say, the phone call of the switch was perfect timing and I was able to take all of my belongings with me. I cried as I left my old school saying goodbye to friends I had gained over the past 3 years there. I knew that God had wanted me there for that season, but had no doubts that he wanted me elsewhere in the next.

 

I think my car was a little full, eh? Sad truth, this was only the first load. . . .

 

As school has started up, I have been working my little tushie off. I have adjusted to new routines, new students, new rules and procedures, and new co-workers. It’s such a weird experience. But I am thankful that after 6 years of living away from my loved ones and going home to an empty house each night after work, I get to go home to family and see Rob at the end of a long day. It’s such a blessing and I am so very happy that this is where I am.

I even had my little sister in with me to help in my classroom. Something I was immensely thankful for. She helped a ton and put together my outside bulletin board to go along with my classroom theme of Dr. Seuss. . .

 

“Dr. Seuss is on the loose in first grade!”

 

During all of the hustle and bustle of work happenings. Rob has started medical school. He is loving it, but is as busy as ever trying to get all of thousands of pages of information into his memory. The analogy they use was the amount of information they are required to know over the next four years will be like trying to drink from a fire hose. Fun right?

One of the most amazing days of both of our lives came and went after his first week of orientation.

 

 

 

Rob’s White Coat Ceremony took place on Friday August 10th. It was an amazingly wonderful day. Reality sunk in on that day. He received his first white coat welcoming him into medical school as well as his first stethoscope. He’s officially a doctor in training. I am so very proud of this man. I am so thankful that I get to be a part of this journey. Although it’s going to be one wild ride!

 

IMG_4505 

 

IMG_4506

 

IMG_4509

 

IMG_4521

 

IMG_4522

 

IMG_4514

 

IMG_4516

 

What a great day, indeed!

 

After one week of my school year under my belt, we have a hurricane day. Tropical storm Isaac is mowing it’s way over south Florida so we are held up inside here for the next couple of days. I am getting work done for my classroom and catching up on my leisure activities that I haven’t had time for. While Rob has been sitting in this position for the past two days, and will be in the same for two more. . .

 

 

Ah…this is my life. . . and I love every minute of it!

One thought on “Life As I Know It

  1. Erin says:

    I love that we were both able to move home at the same time! I’ve missed you friend. Now we’ve just got to find time to actually hang out together!

Leave me some love!